Feb 2, 2011

The Beatitudes

Paragraph 1724 of the Catechism states that the Ten Commandments, the Sermon on the Mount, and the apostolic teachings (i.e from the Magisterium) are the paths that lead to the Kingdom of God. This article will focus on the Beatitudes, which begin Jesus' Sermon on the Mount.

What is the Sermon on the Mount? Found in chapters 5-7 of the Gospel of Matthew, the Sermon on the Mount presents a number of Jesus' teachings on morality.

What are the Beatitudes? Beginning the Sermon on the Mount, the Beatitudes are at the heart of Jesus' preaching. They show us what it truly means to be Christian (scroll to 360).

What follows are the Beatitudes as they are presented in the Gospel of Matthew.
Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.
Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.
Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness,
for they shall be satisfied.
Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy.
Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God.
Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.
Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness' sake,
for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
Blessed are you when men revile you and persecute you
and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account.
Rejoice and be glad,
for your reward is great in heaven.
What does "poor in spirit" mean? Here are some Catechism links to help us in our understanding: 2444, 2546, 2547, 2556.

What does "meek" mean? Praotes, the original Greek word in the New Testament which was translated into "meek," means- mildness of disposition, gentleness.

What does "pure in heart" mean? It means to be simple and innocent, like little children...